El Borracho Mexican Restaurant!

Mexican food is very difficult to find in rural Japan, so you often have to go to a large city to find some. I ate at El Borracho in Fukuoka City a couple years ago and it was quite delightful. There are two in the city that I know of, and they are both hidden deep within a maze of shopping centers and escalators.

big beer

I want to touch on three things here. If you look at the photograph, I’m wearing a Japanese Star Wars shirt. It’s just awesome. Secondly, most people in Japan that I’ve talked to have no idea what Nachos are, and that bums me out quite intensely. It’s an intense bumming. I got a text from a friend after telling her about Nachos, she was in Tokyo eating Nachos for the first time with about eight of her colleagues and was texting me about how much she was enjoying them. It was the proudest moment of my life.

And lastly, I did not ask for an entire six pack of beer in one glass. I asked for a beer while at El Borracho in Fukuoka city (Tenjin area), and they asked me if I wanted a “large”. Generally, where I’m from, “large” doesn’t mean “bigger than my head”, but that’s exactly what I got. I think I drank two that night.